The Great North Run 2011 – Thirty One Geordie Years In The Making

The 31st Great North Run from Newcastle Upon Tyne to South Shields which was first won by Geordie sportsman Mike Mcleod in 1981 is taking place on Sunday 18/09/11 & we would like to wish all the runners well.

Ethiopian running legend Haile Gebrselassie who won the elite men’s 2010 Great North Run will not be taking part, while Berhane Adere who won the elite women’s race in 2010 and 2006 is lookingfor her third win in the Worlds greatest half marathon.

Updated 18/09/11

  • The 2011 elite mens race was won by Martin Mathathi of Kenya
  • The 2011 elite womens race was won by Lucy Kabuu of Kenya
  • The 2011 womens  wheelchair race was won for the third time (first in 2005, then in 2010) by Shelley Woods of Great Britain.
  • The 2011 mens wheelchair race was won for the first time by Josh Cassidy of Canada

View all  2011  Great North Run Results

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.